AFC Amesbury Athletic added their name to The Wiltshire County FA Sunday Cup Final winning list after becoming the first side from south Wiltshire in 40 years to clinch the title.

Newton Tony were the last team to win the historic trophy in 1974, with teams going close since then but not having the cutting edge Amesbury demonstrated at Calne Town FC.

Amesbury’s youngsters mustered a 4-2 win over many southern league players representing Swindon Sunday league outfit AFC Gas.

An own goal inside nine minutes got the Sunday Division 1 leaders underway, with Eddie Perrett, Mark Johnson and Seb Dawes all adding their name to the scoresheet.

After completing the treble, Amesbury are just one win away from sealing the league which would accomplish the quadruple.

Manager Chris Raymond said: “I can't believe we are the first side in 40 years to win the trophy. The players deserve it so much.”

“Now, we move on to Sunday with the same mindset against Bulford with a win set to secure the league title the players deserve - and three more games remaining we have the chance to have a 100 per cent win record without dropping a single point.”

Also celebrating a cup triumph was New Sarum FC, who won the Stonehenge Cup Final on Sunday.

Braces from Michael Glasson and Robbie Kearney, with one from Dan Noke leading them to a 5-1 trouncing over Alderbury FC.

The club are currently looking for sponsors ahead of next season and anyone interested should email secretary