THE Salisbury Journal Education Awards returned on Thursday night to showcase some of the area’s finest teachers, educational leaders and other key players who help provide our young people with the best education.

The awards are now one of the highlights of the year across the region, for all those who play a part in lifetime learning.

It is a chance to recognise some of the tremendous work that goes on in our schools and colleges at all levels, from those who volunteer their services right up to those who provide great leadership.

Held at the Stones Hotel, representatives from schools around South Wiltshire as well as business leaders and community representatives came together to recognise those who do so much.

The audience heard from Salisbury MP John Glen and other keynote speakers ahead of the awards.

It was also a chance for the Journal to announce its new plans to work with young people aspiring for a career in journalism.

Our schools correspondents will have the chance to write for their school or college and have their work published in print and online.

Journal Publisher Bill Browne said: “It was wonderful to share the evening with such a positive outlook on life and teaching.

“Each time we hold these awards we find people who are truly caring and inspirational.

“It is a privilege to give something back to them and spend one night of the year simply saying thank you for all the work they do.

“Look out next year. I think we have proved these awards are popular and our ambition will be to grow them and give a greater chance for recognition to all those involved in education locally.”

The winners were:

Leadership Award - Sponsored by Aspire Defence

Jonathan Curtis of Sarum Academy

Secondary School Award - Sponsored by Salisbury Reds

Penny Shuttleworth of St Joseph's School

College Teacher of the Year - Sponsored by the Stones Hotel

Diane Newton from Salisbury 6th Form

Supporting Staff Member

Sandra Johnson

Community Involvement Award - Sponsored by Quilter Cheviot

Kevin Lawrence of Wyndham Park

Careers Education Award - Sponsored by Wiltshire Council

Sue Glover

Innovation Award - Sponsored by Wiltshire College

Kevin Lawrence of Wyndham Park

Business in Schools Award - Sponsored by Moore Stephens

Chafyn Grove

Nursery and Primary Award - Sponsored by Radiquip

Phill Morgan of Winterslow Primary School

Special Educational Needs Award - Sponsored by ABF

Carolyn Cordell of Exeter House