RESIDENTS are being urged to have their say over changes to division boundaries in south Wiltshire.

The review of Wiltshire Council boundaries is being carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The commission has decided to change its original draft recommendations in response to opposition to its previous proposals for Coombe Bissett, Firsdown, Laverstock, Netherhampton, West Dean, Whiteparish and Winterslow.

The commission says local people and their parish councils argued the draft recommendations did not reflect community ties between parishes.

In responding to local views, it has changed its proposals across the south and south-eastern parts of Wiltshire.

The commission’s new proposals mean Laverstock village does not join the Milford area of Salisbury in a division as previously proposed.

The new plans also mean that Firsdown joins with Winterslow, Whiteparish and West Dean joins with Alderbury, while Netherhampton joins with Wilton and Coombe Bissett joins with Downton.

Professor Colin Mellors, the chairman of the commission, said: “We listened carefully to all the views put to us in the previous consultation. We now want to hear what local people think of our new proposals in the south and south east of the county before we finalise our recommendations in October.”

The initial public consultation was launched in February and new proposals have been put forward for the south and south eastern parts of Wiltshire, which mean residents have now got an extra opportunity to have their say.

The consultation is limited to the commission’s new proposals in south and south east Wiltshire.

For more information and to take part in the consultation go to and

Alternatively, write to The Review Officer (Wiltshire), LGBCE, 1st floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL, or email

Residents have until July 29 to have their say on the proposals.

The commissions final recommendations for the whole of Wiltshire are due to be published in October.