HERE are the candidates standing in the Hampshire County Council elections for the New Forest divisions.

The Hampshire County Council elections will take place today (May 6) alongside the elections for the Police and Crime Commissioner.


Lyndhurst & Fordingbridge

  • Hilary Brand (Lib Dems)
  • Edward Heron (Conservatives)
  • Janet Richards (Green Party)
  • James Swyer (Labour)


  • Alex Brunsdon (Lib Dems)
  • Nicola Jolly (Green Party)
  • Peter Kelleher (Labour)
  • Michael Thierry (Conservatives)


  • Martin Ashman (Labour)
  • Keith Mans (Conservative)
  • Ruth Rollin (Lib Dems)
  • Katherine Wilcox (Green Party)

Dibden & Hythe

  • Dominic Boddington (Green Party)
  • Chris Harrison (Conservatives)
  • Katherine Herbert (Labour)
  • Tom Jones (Alliance for Democracy and Freedom)
  • Malcolm Wade (Lib Dems)

Lymington & Boldre

  • Jack Davies (Lib Dems)
  • Barry Dunning (Conservatives)
  • Jacqui England (Independent)
  • Verena Jolly (Green Party)
  • Jerry Weber (Labour)

New Milton

  • Eloise Florence (Labour)
  • Jeremy Fenner (Green Party)
  • Melville Kendal (Conservatives)
  • Ben Thompson (Lib Dems)

New Milton North, Milford & Hordle

  • Fran Carpenter (Conservatives)
  • Mark Clark (Lib Dems)
  • Tony Law (Green Party)
  • Ian Linney (UKIP)
  • Chris Main (Labour)

South Waterside

  • Rebecca Clark (Lib Dems)
  • Julie Hope (Labour)
  • Alexis Mcevoy (Conservatives)
  • John Pemberton (Green Party)

Totton North & Netley Marsh

  • Nev Penman (Conservatives)
  • Caroline Rackham (Lib Dems)
  • John Rochey-Adams (Labour)
  • Timothy Rowe (Green Party)

Totton South & Marchwood

  • Helen Field (Labour)
  • David Harrison (Lib Dems)
  • Callum O`Driscoll (Green Party)
  • Richard Young (Conservatives)


A by-election is also being held for the Ringwood North ward on Ringwood Town Council. The candidates are:

  • Luke Dadford (Lib Dems)
  • Paul Iggulden (Labour)
  • Derek Richard (Conservatives)

Safety measures

  • Wear face coverings 
  • Bring your own pen or pencil
  • Cleaning hands when entering and leaving the polling station 
  • Remember to social distance

John Coughlan, the County Returning Officer and Hampshire County Council Chief Executive said: “We want to make sure that everyone who is entitled to vote is able to do so safely and securely, and in line with Public Health guidance.

"If you plan to vote in person on Thursday 6 May, do remember to double check your polling card as there have been a small number of changes to usual polling stations for COVID reasons. There will be no change to the hours of polling which is from 7am to 10pm.

“Polling stations will be safe places, and we have been working closely with Government, members of the electoral community and our Public Health teams which will ensure the latest official guidance is followed and COVID-safe measures will be in place.

“Voters casting their ballot in person can also keep themselves and others safe by wearing a face covering, bringing their own pen or pencil, cleaning their hands when entering and leaving the polling station and keeping a safe distance.

“If you are self-isolating or become unwell as a result of COVID-19 shortly before polling day, or on the day of polling itself, you can also obtain an emergency proxy vote.

"Speak to the electoral registration team at your local district or borough council who will tell you what you need to do to arrange this. But please do not go out to vote if you have symptoms of COVID-19, or if you have been asked to self-isolate.”

Get more Forest Journal news 

You can also like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter and Instagram to stay up to date.

Email with your comments, pictures, letters and news stories.