A SALISBURY school has celebrated its 110th birthday. 

On May 14th, 1914, Leehurst House opened its doors as a school ground for the first time. It took the name of Leehurst Convent with the purpose of educating Catholic girls in the tenets of their faith.

Over the past 110 years, much has changed within the school. It has been known as many names such as,  Leehurst Convent, La Retraite, and then La Retraite Swan when the school merged with The Swan School for Boys in 1996.

In 2007, Leehurst Swan became the school’s final name. It is now well known as Salisbury’s only co-educational independent day school, providing 188 children from Reception to Year 11 with an individually tailored education. 

On May 17, 2024, the school marked this momentous milestone with a celebration picnic. The event was well attended by past, present and future members of the Leehurst Swan community who all enjoyed the sun, with a picnic and cakes on the lawn. 

Among those in attendance was former Headmaster, Reverend Roger Leake, who retired in 2018, former Head of Prep Angela Bayliss, who retired in 2019, Nikki Morgan-Nash and Mr and Mrs Morgan-Nash.

Nikki is the wife of Leehurst Swan’s former Headteacher Stuart Morgan-Nash who sadly died in 2018 shortly after joining the school.  

Exciting entertainment was provided by Alex Taylor from the Salisbury-based 'Girls Love Fit'. Friends of Leehurst Swan kindly provided a Pimms tent and sold ice creams which proved very popular on the warm afternoon. 

Headteacher, Mrs Mandy Bateman, said: "Over the years, our school has changed, adding much needed space for the thriving school that Leehurst Swan is today.

"Its rich history lives on through our staff, parents and of course, our pupils. It is a small school with a big heart, where we encourage everyone to ‘be what they are’ and ‘find their voice."