THREE South Wilts player Arthur Godsal, Tom Morton and Luke Evans helped Wiltshire into the last eight of the Unicorns National Trophy as they beat Devon at Warminster after a bowl out, writes ROY HONEYBONE.

Wiltshire won the toss and elected to bat first.

Devon were boosted by the inclusion of Peter Trego who, only the weekend before, was helping Somerset to beat Hampshire in the Royal London One Day Cup Final.

Trego opened the bowling and made it difficult for Wiltshire to gain any momentum with the bat.

Wiltshire had scored 28 runs when Trego struck to remove Jake Goodwin leg before.

However, it was England U19 international and Somerset Academy protege, 18-year-old Kasey Aldridge whose pace caused problems for Wiltshire with Tom Morton, Uzi Qureshi and Neil Clarke all edging catches to an eagerly awaiting slip cordon.

After Jamie Stephens had captured the wicket of Jake Lintott Wiltshire had moved on to 118-5 when a second spell of rain stopped play. Skipper Ed Young had moved on to 33 not out and had Bradley Dawson 8 not out alongside him when the intermittent showers became persistent and continual causing play to eventually be abandoned for the day.

This meant that the players had to move into the indoor nets behind the pavilion building and prepare for a bowl off.

Five players from each side were required to bowl two balls each at unprotected stumps.

Peter Trego led the way began by putting Devon 2-0 up.

Unfortunately for Devon they only had one further success taking their tally to three.

Tahir Afridi, Luke Evans, Jake Lintott and Arthur Godsal all managed to hit the stumps once to give Wiltshire a stunning 4-3 victory.

The smiles were evident all the way home in the rain for the victorious Wiltshire team who move on to the next round which is away to Oxfordshire on June 30.

Before this Wiltshire have a two T20 group games against Dorset on June 16 at South Wilts at 11am and 2.30pm.

Wiltshire team against Devon: standing (left to right): Tahir Afridi, Jake Lintott, Arthur Godsal, Tom Morton, Jake Goodwin, Joe King, Brad Dawson, Jack Haines.

Kneeling (left to right): Luke Evans, Ed Young (captain), Uzi Qureshi, Neil Clarke