SALISBURY have been awarded a home draw in the second qualifying round of the FA Cup after defeating league rivals Poole Town at the weekend.

Steve Claridge’s side were victorious away at the BlackGold Stadium for the second time in a week, following up on Monday’s bank holiday derby win with a 2-0 win.

The game followed a similar pattern to the Salisbury’s 2-1 win in the league meeting six days earlier, with Poole on top yet unable to convert dominance into goals.

However, unlike the Whites’ comeback performance in the first meeting, they were able to strike first via Sam Roberts.

The defender arrived just in time to glance home Charlie Davis’ cross from a free-kick, prodding home with his studs to open scores.

Gerard Benfield was unbeatable throughout, making an array of saves to keep Poole out.

Able to sit back and hit the hosts on the break in the second half, Salisbury eventually doubled their lead when Sam Ashton slipped through to lob goalkeeper Luke Cairney and seal the win.

Laverstock and Ford defeated higher league opposition to continue their cup journey, defeating Southern League Cinderford Town away from home.

A quickfire double saw Lavvy lead 2-0 before 10 minutes had elapsed, with Peter Fletcher drawing first blood after five minutes.

Chae Sykes chimed in with another minutes later, before the hosts threatened to mount a comeback in the second half when Ben Brooks halved the deficit with a quarter of the match remaining.

However, Bulldogs quickly nipped any comeback in the bud six minutes later, with Russell Jones grabbing what proved to be winner.

The hosts rallied again, with Brooks grabbing what proved to be another consolation goal five minutes from time.

Apart from the £2,250 prize for advancing, Lavvy have been handed another lengthy trip in the next round, visiting National South Taunton Town in the second qualifying round.

Salisbury will host Taunton’s league rivals, Oxford City, with ties set to take place on Saturday, September 17. If ties are not settled by 90 minutes, they will head to replays.

Winners will receive £3,375, with losing sides also given £1,125 for their efforts.