FARLEY cricketers enjoyed a very special guest at their annual awards dinner, with winners announced by England fast bowler Mark Wood, writes Paul Roberts.

The paceman is currently playing in the T20 World Cup in Australia, so could not make it to Salisbury’s Ox Row Inn in person.

But with the assistance of Farley player and England physio Craig De Weymarn, Wood recorded a series of videos – laced with a touch of his trademark humour.

First team captain Marc Burton was on the receiving end, as he picked up the bowling award, with Wood pointing out that as skipper he “gets to bowl at all the best times”.

De Weymarn himself announced the clubman of the year award, in a video filmed at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

There were also video appearances from Farley players currently around the globe, as well as bouquets for scorers Jakki Knight and Emily Burrows.

Club president Gwyn Blenkinsop was master of ceremonies


First XI Batting Award – Archie Ayling

First XI Bowling Award – Marc Burton

First XI Captain’s Player of the Year – Rob Loader

Second XI Batting Award – Harry Jenkins

Second XI Bowling Award – Jake Hand

Second XI Captain’s Player of the Year – Rob Feeney

Clubman of the Year – Craig Burrows

  • After a solid season on the pitch, the club is looking ahead to next year, with plans to expand the junior section and introduce women’s softball. Farley has also secured a new sponsor, East Brothers Timber Ltd of West Dean.