art blog

Latest show at gallery well worth a visit

Posted on 10:22am Thursday 11th December 2014

IT was gratifying to be publicly thanked for buying the Young Gallery a painting by John Piper, unveiled last week.

New feature adds magic to cathedral

Posted on 11:00am Friday 5th December 2014

HOW much do we really notice of the world around us?

Is funding a blessing or just a curse?

Posted on 2:24pm Wednesday 26th November 2014

THE Government’s approach to arts funding is a bit of a mystery to me.

Keep an eye out for insight into a virtual world

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 20th November 2014

When one of my nephews chose to study Games Technology at university, there were contradictory reactions within the family.

Martin Gilchrist

The pressures of success and understanding

Posted on 10:54am Thursday 13th November 2014

By Martin Urmson

The pressures of success and understanding

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 13th November 2014

WHAT drives many artists is, if not success, then recognition and understanding.

Galleries offer a rich, diverse experience

Posted on 10:13am Thursday 6th November 2014

HALF-term provides an opportunity for travel, and in our house that means gallery visits further afield.

What can we take from our recent fortune?

Posted on 10:00am Thursday 30th October 2014

WHAT’S Plovdiv got that we haven’t, then?

Collaboration is needed to boost the city

Posted on 11:00am Thursday 23rd October 2014

WE have known that 2014 would be the centenary year of the start of the Great War for a very long time.

Gallery styles lend well to history exhibit

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 16th October 2014

THE differences between exhibiting art and history are becoming more narrow, and it’s no bad thing, ensuring art remains coherent and that history becomes more alive.

What denotes the true value of an artwork?

Posted on 3:30pm Wednesday 8th October 2014

THE idea that art should be affordable is good in principle, but can be hard to define.

The art of lace

Posted on 10:08am Thursday 2nd October 2014

AT Salisbury Museum, Theresa Whitfield’s drawings in ‘Lace: An Unexpected Look’ are certainly as advertised.

Sums of money corrupt artwork

Posted on 10:17am Thursday 25th September 2014

By Martin Urmson

Margate is a shining star we can follow

Posted on 10:37am Thursday 18th September 2014

LAST week’s suggestion that Salisbury’s future could be secure and bright if only we had a new and purpose-built art gallery provoked some interesting reactions.

Salisbury is in need of a new prestige gallery

Posted on 11:11am Thursday 11th September 2014

THE three exhibition spaces at Salisbury library are all given to a single show at present.

Scars of the past resonate in the present

Posted on 10:24am Thursday 4th September 2014

By Martin Urmson

Scars of the past resonate in the present

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 4th September 2014

I LIKE to think of the real world as an extended artwork, always changing under the influence of wind and weather, and the interventions of man.

Aged pictures provide new insights into another time

Posted on 10:15am Thursday 28th August 2014

ONE common factor linking the artists in Salisbury Arts Centre’s show Lost is that they are all older, maybe wiser, than when they made their exhibits.

Exhibition is lacking in the best of Beaton

Posted on 10:33am Thursday 21st August 2014

By Martin Urmson

Art integrated into the fabric of Mompesson

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 14th August 2014

SCULPTURE often presents me with a problem.

Morwenna Blake

Sometimes a little change must be embraced

Posted on 6:00am Thursday 31st July 2014

I’M saying farewell to the Journal this week, and moving home to Cornwall.

Morwenna Blake

Parents and children rock out to Queen

Posted on 10:20am Thursday 24th July 2014

WE were spoilt for choice round here last week.

Morwenna Blake

What could go wrong with a family game?

Posted on 9:57am Thursday 17th July 2014

IT was my son’s eleventh birthday on Saturday.

Morwenna Blake

An unlikely candidate for next top chef

Posted on 11:03am Thursday 10th July 2014

I’M ashamed to say I let out a little squeak of glee at the start of the latest series of Celebrity Masterchef.

Morwenna Blake

It seems history is the secret key to happiness

Posted on 10:16am Thursday 3rd July 2014

THE Chalke Valley History Festival always provides fun times, whether history’s your thing or not.

All the fun of the fete

Posted on 3:19pm Thursday 26th June 2014

I FELT a little bit guilty at the weekend.

Inspiring a generation of TV chefs

Posted on 3:05pm Wednesday 18th June 2014

TV CHEFS are two-a-penny these days.

Dirty Dancing leaves me cold

Posted on 2:15pm Wednesday 11th June 2014

I DON’T like Dirty Dancing.

The dread of audience participation

Posted on 9:28am Thursday 5th June 2014

WE ALL know the feeling.

A bit of rain won't hurt us - we're British

Posted on 2:28pm Thursday 29th May 2014

SITTING in the office on Friday we were peering out of the window at the gloom and keeping our fingers crossed for the organisers of this year’s arts festival.

Peyroux 'gets' the Chaplin genius

Posted on 9:46am Thursday 22nd May 2014

IT’S always lovely when you encounter someone with whom you share an interest, especially when it’s one that might be a bit on the obscure side.

Hamster wheels and Polish churners

Posted on 3:01pm Wednesday 14th May 2014

IT was flags in the air, irony sensors off and scathing comments at the ready as we sat down to watch Eurovision at the weekend.

Never mind the popcorn for this taste of culture

Posted on 1:31pm Thursday 8th May 2014

THERE’s precious little in this life that’s free.

More to art than meets the eye

Posted on 3:01pm Wednesday 30th April 2014

EXHIBITIONS at Salisbury Cathedral tend to provoke a wide range of reactions.

Not every novelist is write on the money

Posted on 3:21pm Wednesday 23rd April 2014

“EVERYONE has a novel inside them” is a pretty commonly heard phrase.

Subject matter can defy film classifications

Posted on 1:10pm Wednesday 16th April 2014

I TEND to be slightly wary of film and TV classifications.

Morwenna Blake

It wasn't just Hitler's hair that sent me to sleep

Posted on 11:16am Thursday 10th April 2014

THE other day I got home from a long day at work, cooked dinner, washed the dishes, fed the cat, put the bins out, put the boy to bed, did some ironing, then finally sat down on the sofa.

Dancing Images was a brilliant show

Posted on 9:32am Thursday 3rd April 2014

NOTHING brings a tear to my eye quite like children performing on stage.

Professor was Crystal clear on English language

Posted on 3:50pm Wednesday 26th March 2014

LECTURES at university are strange things.

The Bard was down with the kids - really

Posted on 3:09pm Wednesday 19th March 2014

THERE was a missive going around Facebook the other day informing people: “Romeo and Juliet is not a love story, it’s a three-day relationship between a 13-year-old and a 17-year-old. Sincerely, everyone who actually who read it.”

Ingenuity you can still sink your teeth into

Posted on 1:49pm Wednesday 12th March 2014

IT’S always interesting to return to a favourite film or television series that you haven’t seen for years.

Broadchurch writer at Playhouse

Posted on 9:53am Thursday 6th March 2014

IT’S not often I get star struck, but I don’t mind admitting I was just a little bit this week.

Culture isn't always top of the agenda

Posted on 1:29pm Wednesday 26th February 2014

MY son and I spent half term in a picturesque little lakeside village about 40 minutes from Rome.

Morwenna Blake

Shakespeare unravelled in the Xbox era

Posted on 12:49pm Thursday 20th February 2014

SHAKESPEARE is a name that has long had the power to drive fear into the heart of the ‘not very English minded’ schoolchild.

Perhaps our theatres have a secret policy...

Posted on 3:50pm Wednesday 12th February 2014

THE theatre is a fascinating world occupied by fascinating people.

Am-dram is where it can all start

Posted on 10:22am Thursday 6th February 2014

YEARS ago, before I’d decided what I wanted to do in life, I worked in a bank.

Sir Tom is a legend in his own lifetime

Posted on 9:00am Thursday 30th January 2014

THIS week brought the news that Tom Jones is to be the headline act at the Larmer Tree Festival.

An important year to honour fallen heroes

Posted on 3:50pm Wednesday 22nd January 2014

THIS is a hugely significant year in terms of human history.

An education from Horrible Histories

Posted on 4:05pm Friday 17th January 2014

I WAS watching kids’ TV with my son the other day.

Interview's Galore with Bond star

Posted on 4:32pm Wednesday 8th January 2014

IT’S not every day you get to interview a Bond girl.

Readers who submit articles must agree to our terms of use. The content is the sole responsibility of the contributor and is unmoderated. But we will react if anything that breaks the rules comes to our attention. If you wish to complain aboutthis article, contact us here.

Recent Entries

December 2014
S M T W T F S
29 30 01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 01 02

RSS





About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree